Inside the Box

Standard
"Inside the Box"

blue and white silk, wax resist method

Here is a nice piece of silk that was dyed adopting a very simple method of employing a wide brush to “paint” on wax then allowing it to set and dry thoroughly.  Once set the piece of  silk was  immersed into the  dye bath and given  time to saturate.  I agitated the piece very little. Here is the result.  It reminds me of buildings or rows of blocks,  therefore the name “Inside the Box”.  Not very unique or even inspiring but I do like the way some of the dye was able to creep into the white areas where the wax resist was painted on.  The color is a calming dark blue to contrast the white ground.

About stitchedanddyed

Traveling a great deal as a child I have now settled in New England and it is home. When I started my blog it was mostly so that I could see my fiber works in one place and not have to go through storage containers looking for them! It helps to keep me on track and turn those UFO's into finished pieces - so far it is working. I love gathering with my family, we always have fun, usually around a meal and we laugh a lot. I love fabrics, gardening, music, reading, cooking, traveling and love being home, as well as all sorts of other things.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

